The Golden Valley Light railway

A 2ft (610mm) Narrow Gauge Railway in Derbyshire

 

Timetable

2017 Timetable

The 2017 operating season has now finished, passenger trains will resume on Friday 30th March 2018

image:- Running Dates 2016

Every Weekend from Sat April 1st to Sun October 29th
and everyday, during school holidays and Bank Holiday Monday's

Sat 8th April - Sun 23rd April
Sat 27th May - Sun 4th June
Sat 22nd July to Sun 3rd September
Sat 21st October to Sun 29th October

Saturday 4th November when an evening service will operate for the annual "Fireworks and Bonfire" event.

The Midland Railway - Butterley runs a large number of special events during the year, for more information see the The Midland Railway - Butterley Homepage.


Please note that a separate fare is payable on this line
Adults - £2.50; Children (5 years and over) - £1.00

Running Times
GVLR (NARROW GAUGE) TIMETABLE
 
    A   B  
Butterley Park dep 11.50 12.30 1.15 2.00 2.45 3.30 4.15
Newlands Inn arr 12.00 12.40 1.25 2.10 2.55 3.40 4.25    
Newlands Inn dep 12.05 12.45 1.30 2.15 3.00 3.45 4.30
Brands Crossing 12.10 12.50 1.35 2.20 3.05 3.50 4.35
Butterley Park arr 12.15 12.55 1.40 2.25 3.10 3.55 4.40

A - Operates every weekend but only if required weekdays
B - Operates Weekends only-when MR-B's C, or special timetables are running

A - Operates only when B or C timetables are running on the Standard Gauge trains.

In addition to operating trains, volunteers are hard at work in the New Running Shed, maintaining and restoring our rolling stock.

If you are passing, why not call in to the Running Shed, and see what activities we are up to.

Also view the restoration of Ashover Coach No4 and progress being made on O&K 7529 an 0-4-0 well tank steam loco

We will be pleased to explain our future plans, for our historic rolling stock.